Posted in Thoughts

Religion Politics

So, the presidential election is coming up and suddenly everyone is talking about politic despite having no interest whatsoever prior to the election. Me included.

I would tell you upfront, however, that I don’t know much about politic, nor do I harbor any interest in it. And I won’t classify myself as the supporter of one of the candidates although to be fair, I do am inclined to one of them, given my peer group, and I am not a part of indogov fandom. Yes, people, Indogov fandom is a thing and it seriously creeps me out – and this coming from someone who ship real life artists.

So this is merely something that I wrote to vent out about a certain part of this country’s politics that has been bothering me for quite some time: the religion aspect.

I, for one, could never understand why in the world does religion have to play a major part as a criteria to be this country’s leader. Capability, experience, decisiveness, intelligent, wit, communication skill, now those I understand. But religion? Personally, I could not care less if my president is a devotee of animism, as long as s/he can lead this country and brighten it’s future. Worship Shisus or Lord Voldemin for all I care, it won’t matter to me as long as you can eradicate corruption and bring peace and equity into this country.

Okay, I admit I might sound a little hyperbolic there, but you get my point. Because frankly, all the inclusion of religion in each candidates’ campaign one more than the other is just straight out ridiculous.

First, there’s the black campaign against a candidate because he was deemed “not religious enough”. Cue literal eye roll. There’s so many fallacies in this accusation that I don’t know where to start. First, how do you even know how “religious” a person is? How exactly would you measure it, and how could you be so sure that you have measure it right? Where did you get the knowledge and authority to judge? Are you so religious that you can assess other’s devotion with some kind of x-ray beam from your eyes? Because, really, I don’t think any of us have the right to judge other’s level of devotion. Second, just because you’re “not religious enough” does not mean you’re not capable of leading a country. May I emphasize, that we’re looking for a president, and not a cleric? If this was a competition for a religious leader then yes, it makes perfect sense that we should not vote for a candidate that is not religious enough. But we’re electing a president, in a nation that house five different religions – not to mention other local beliefs – so I really does not see where his religiosity come to play. Which is why I can’t seem to wrap my mind around why would people use this “fact”, that “this candidate is not religious enough”, as a reason to not vote for him.

I know it’s personal preferences, and it’s not my place to tell you what should and should not qualify as a reason to choose a candidate. It’s just that I don’t agree with this particular qualification. Because one’s religiosity does not automatically guarantee his good behavior. Furthermore, this could also tip the balance of equality in this country. Blame my pessimistic nature, but I’m afraid that if our leader is someone that is much too religious and his visions are religion-centered, he would come to abandon the other religions in this country. The minorities that he and his religion doesn’t stand for, and may or may not deemed wrong. I’ve seen far too many news reports about religious groups forcing their own version of religious justice to others already, and I really wish for it to stop. Something that, I’m afraid, we would not accomplish if our leader himself appear to be too focused towards a particular religion.

Second, and this is what irritated me the most, is the fact that this whole religion debacle only revolve around one religion out of the five that was held by this country’s inhabitants. This is something that has long since became a personal qualms of mine, especially since the birth of sharia law. One of the reason is because some of those laws ended up being a tad too misogynistic and restrictive towards women, and also because some of the punishment was a bit too….barbaric. The main reason, however, was the discrimination that it implied. As far as I remember, this is not an Islamic country. Yes, the majority of it’s people are Moslem, but that does not make it an Islamic country. And in my humble opinion, creating a law based on a religion that was not adopted by some of this country’s inhabitants is basically a discrimination towards those minorities. Where’s the equality? And the tolerance? I thought our people was supposed to have a high level of tolerance towards other. So please, do tell me, where is the tolerance on forcing people to abide to a law that was based on a religion that they did not adopted? Where’s the fairness? If you want to make a law based on religion, then adopt all five of our country’s official religions. Don’t just focused on one, simply because majority rule in democracy. Pay attention to the minorities too, because abandoning them, suppressing them, acting like they does not exist, is a perfect recipe for disaster.

Not to mention that a radical group has even goes as far as stating that if a certain candidate win, there will be some sort of “purification” for aforementioned majority’s religion. Purification. REALLY. What are you, Voldemort and his Death Eater? Are you going to separate us into a variation of pure bloods, half bloods, and muggle born? Then what? What would happen once you’ve categorized us? Will there be some sort of trial for us who failed to pass as pure? And what of those who does not practiced this particular religion? The thoughts alone are more than enough to make my skin crawls.

Last but not least, there is this certain…movement that baffled me to no end. It is no secret that a certain candidate was actually still working as Governor, and his involvement into presidential election meant his Vice Governor is now acting as the Governor. And this arrangement will stay if this candidate manage to win the presidential election. This Vice-turned-Governor is actually a nice man, capable, intelligent, firm, know how to stick to his words, and quite charismatic – at least for me. I found no problem with him being a Governor. But apparently, some people does. Because of his religion, because he doesn’t practice the religion that majority adopted. Oh, and because of his ethnicity too – but since we’re talking about religion here, let’s save that notion for another day. Still, this logic – if it even could be called one – is something that I can’t manage to wrap my head around. I would not even dignify it with a rebuttal because it’s just flat out hilarious – if only they’re not serious. This whole debacle about “let’s not vote for this candidate so his not-a-practitioner-of-our-religion vice would not be a governor” deserves a major facepalm. I’m sorry, I thought we have gone way past the stone age? Or was that just me?

It’s like you’re saying that since most of us eat rice as our main meal, then he who eat potato as his main meal doesn’t deserve a chance to lead us. Screw his capabilities, screw his track record, screw his credibility. He doesn’t eat rice like us!

Yeah right.

There’s this thing called equality, ladies and gentlemen. It means that everyone, despite his race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, religion, and other personal preferences, deserved the same chance. They have the same standing in front of law, in front of justice, and in life. This should apply to the aforementioned case.Despite his religion, this Vice-turned-Governor have the right for a fair chance to become a Governor. He’s a countrymen just like any of us, and he have the same rights as us. Just because he doesn’t abide by the majority’s religion, does not make him a lesser man or stripped him off of some privileges, like the chance to run for office – or lead one, in his case. Should he proved himself worthy of the position, then I don’t see why he doesn’t deserve the Governor title.

Point is, I really think this is getting out of hand, this tendency of ours to mix religion, something that should have been a personal matter between oneself and his/her God, with social and politic issues. Those issues should have been separated, and mixing it will only bring more turmoil to this country of ours. I’m not saying that we should forgo religion as a whole, since that would goes against our very own Pancasila. I’m just saying that maybe, maybe we should try to draw a fine line to separate personal preference with nation’s issues, such as politics. And I would love if we could really tone down the whole “I’m majority so you should do as I say” acts. Pay attention to the minorities, groomed our tolerance towards others, and please, please, please, let equality get the spotlight it deserved. Rather than fighting about which group is better, let’s just work together to apply equality into our society. Don’t we all sought peace and better future for our beloved nation, after all?

 

 

 

 

À la mort,

An opportunist with some streaks of idealism.

Author:

An emotionally invested enthusiast of pop culture. Apathetic by design. Aesthetically offensive and eloquently candid. A sentimental heathen.

2 thoughts on “Religion Politics

Leave a Reply

